sample sketch to read a water meter and upload to web site

I'm new to the Arduino world, but I did research a little. I see others have done something similar but can't find exactly what I need so I'd appreciate your inputs greatly.

I'm considering installing a water meter with a reed switch (100 pulses / gal) at a vacation home I have. I'd like to use the Uno and essentially count the pulses, do the math and upload data to a website for easy monitoring. Or better yet, eventually do a Smartthings (ST) integration. ST can wait; I'll settle right now for just being able to see if water is flowing whenever I want to and how much. I already have a remotely operated cutoff valve by which I can turn water off from my ST hub and iPhone.

I'm using an Uno and a Ethernet shield (W5100). I also have the ST shield for the Uno, but I figure that is a whole new set of challenges (i.e. having a ST tile that shows me water usage on my iPhone). I figure get the basic setup working with a LAN; then try other improvements.

So, two questions:

1. Can someone point me to a sketch that would read the reed switch interrupts and totalize the count; converting that to gallons & then send that a website for access.

2. Suggestions and hints on uploading that data to a website to plot the data; popular websites, etc?

Thank you in advance,

Dave

for (1) I did something similar long ago, count pulses of a KWH meter.
code will be roughly the same

you probably do make it simpler by just updating the counter in the interrupt

volatile unsigned long count = 0;
unsigned long count_old = 0;

// The interrupt routine
void IRQ()
{
    count++;                    // just increment raw pulse counter.
}

float readFlow()
{
    // prevent interrupts happening while copy the counter
    cli;
    unsigned long t = count;
    sei;
    float val = (t - count_old)/22.0;  // adjust formula to your needs.
    count_old = t;
    return val;
}

///////////////////////////////////////
void setup() 
{