sampling audio, web streaming and receiving (guidance help request)

Hi every one, I have arduino one, and I'm very new to this great world. I would like to ask if someone could tell me if this project of mine is feasible, and maybe suggesting me the proper shields-components-kind of sketches to use for the purpose.

I am a musician and sound designer, using Max/Msp, particularly interested on soundscape projects and researches, and this project is for an interactive sound installation in a real environment, with the sound produced by cicadas.

arduino should be involved in steps 1-2-4-5 of the following:

1) sampling the sound locally produced by cicadas males during summer; 2) sending a stream of samples through the web in real time 3) another computer placed in a studio should get this stream, making the audio treatments, re-sending it trough the web (splitted possibly into four independent synchronized channels-signals) 4) downloading the processed stream 5) distributing the sounds on a local multi speaker system

Am I definetively too ambitious? Can anyone please address me towards a reasonable way of performing this tasks with arduino one (and - or maybe with other microcontrollers - shields if needed)?

I thank you very very much any one who can help me, and apologize for boring others.

best

Stefano Zorzanello

That all seems feasible using conventional audio recording and transmission via a PC - I don't see anything that would involve an Arduino.

But it is possible with Arduino provided each individual sample is very short much less than 1 second. What is the advantage of using Arduino?

thanks Peter H and sbright33 for replying:

the advantage of using Arduino is that I could leave, as I need, all the hardware installation working in the environment, and I would prefer not to abandon a computer in a field of grass, cicadas and so on.....

On this case, any suggestion for the proper shields and procedures to follow (sampling- streaming - downloading)?