Save a char as int

Hello!

I'm quite new to arduino and C. I'm reading the Jack Purdum Book on programming C for arduino and I came across a question. I've searched the fora and found some answers, but I want to know the why behind it. That's not clearly stated anywhere I think.

The question is:

char c;
  int num;

if(Serial.available() > 0){

c = Serial.read();
    num = (int) c;
    Serial.println(num);
    Serial.println(c);

}

When typing 5 for example in the serial monitor, num prints 53 and c prints 5. When

num = (int) (c - '0')

and you print num, it displays 5.

What is it that the - '0' does, that makes it a 5 instead of 53.

My little research found that 53 is the ASIC dec for 5. But I don't understand what the - '0' does then.

Thanks!

The character for '0' is ascii 48, so 53-48=?

wildbill:
The character for '0' is ascii 48, so 53-48=?

So what it is actually doing is printing an ascii 5 (ENQ), and not the character '5'?

Why does it do that? I always thought the arduino "translates" the ascii in a character. So it receives a character '5', translates in ascii '53', does what it needs to do, translates it back in character, and print that. Why does it prints ascii?

Sorry if that's a dumb question, but i'm really trying to understand what is happening.

I think the thing confusing the issue is Serial.print. It treats disparate types differently. If you pass it an int, it'll print a number, it doesn't know or care that that int took its value from a char, it's got 53 in it now so I'll print '53'.

When printing a char, it prints the ascii code represented by the data the char contains. In this case 53, but I know it's a char so I will print '5'.

Okay, that makes a whole lot more of sense now.

If I understand correctly, when printing a character, printing something like "53" is impossible, cause a character can only have 1 character, so it "translate" the 53 (to 5 in this case).