Saving data before shut down

I'm soon going to start a small project and I'm completely new to the Arduino, I didn't even buy one yet…

I will try to build something for my electric scooter. It will collect some data and display it on a lcd screen while driving. It needs to remember some data between every time I drive, so I need to save things on the built in EEPROM, as I understand it. I also understand that there is a limit how many times I can write to the EEPROM, so I thought that just saving all data every time I shut the scooter off would be a good idea. That would probably be twice a day or something like that.

The battery of my electric scooter (60 V, 40 Ah) is removable, so every day I take it out and recharge it inside my apartment, leaving the scooter and the Arduino without any kind of power. The scooter is equipped with a DC/DC converter for 12 V, which I will use to power the Arduino.

I think I will go for the Arduino One, I don't know if that's a good idea, but it seems to fulfil the other needs of my project.

So what I need to know now, is probably something like the following:

When the power is off, is the Arduino immediately dead or is there still some time to write to the EEPROM?

Is there a way for an Arduino program to see the voltage of the power connection?

What is the most common or easy approach for solving this problem?

Is it generally a bad idea to just cut the power off the Arduino without running some kind of shut down function first?