Sawmill cnc ideas and input.

Hi my name is Shaun and I’ve been playing with micro controllers off and on for a few years so I am a beginner with programing. What I’m looking to do is automate this mill and make it more user friendly. I have done several things to make it more user friendly.

Now the mill has a motorized deck to raise & lower blade and I’m working on motorized bed travel.

What the plans are to have the micro controller counting the encoder steps on the bed and deck travel. Just a few inches before the log and a few after the log on the bed. After each cut drop an inch or what ever I’m needing cut on each pass.

Well you get the idea. Any input

OK. What do you want help on?

What do you think would be the best way to input info and some type of visual conformation of what was entered. Say I wanted one log cut in inch planks what would be a good way to enter in, touch pad, push buttons, twist encoder knob to select thickness of whats to be cut. Should it be just predetermined thickness like in 1/8 increments or would some type of input be easier to program.

What would be super nice is if someone has already done something similar and I can see what and how they did it.

It all depends on your requirements. Are you satisfied with just one thickness option, or do you want more options for thickness?

I think a 16x2 character line display would be ideal to give the user some feedback. Maybe a rotary encoder to allow the user to dial in values. These could be preset increments as appropriate to what is being adjusted.

A simple menu system and jobs a goodun. If you want something really nice you could perhaps even go for a 3" touch sensitive display. I still like the rotary encoder idea to dial in values though.