Sawmill with robotic control - need a little help

Hello Group, have a small question about a motor controller set up.

I have a commercial gas powered sawmill (can make 30 inch wide cuts) that I have automated using quantum PMDC wheel chair motors. The motors are 24vdc powered through a 24vdc 20 amp power supply. They run great and have a ton of torque (more than enough for what I need).

The problem is the speed controller. I have burned up 4 amazon junker speed controls in the last week. I figure I just need to spend the money on a controller that is just going to work for more than an hour.

I would like to use a sabertooth 32a and arduino but I want local control trough a panel on the operating station of the mill. I need to be able to control speed of the motors through a knob as well as reverse them when the saw finishes its cut. I just need someone to point me in the right direction on what to buy and if this is even possible using this setup. Admittedly, I’m pretty new to electronic control but I can do anything mechanically.

Willing to take any suggestions, thanks!

Pololu has a good line of high power DC motor drivers.

You need to make sure that the driver and power supply can handle the stall current of the motor. The motor will pull the stall current, briefly, every time that it is startded.

My power supply is limited to 20 amps at 24vdc. It’s the biggest one I could find without spending a ton of money or going to full battery control.

The motor is rated for 200 watts continuous and 1200 watt Max.

The motors are quantum q6 wheel chair motors with gear reduction.

Why is that?

Please refrain from profanity.

Bob.

It sounds like you have not sourced the controllers correctly in relationship to the torque used and the current required.

To do that you need at lease a basic grounding in applied mechanics and electrical theory.

I would suggest going back to the drawing board and starting with the motor specifications.