SCD30 [Solved]

I sense I am out of my depth struggling to get the SCD30 to work using a Uno R3 and SparkFun's coding. I have been linking the SCD30's TX / SCL pin to the Uno's RX / Digital Pin 0 and the SCD's RX / SDA pin to the Uno's TX / Digital Pin 1. But you have been talking about I2C which has eventually dawned on me as presumably meaning I should be linking SCD30's TX / SCL pin to the Uno's SCL pin (being the unlabelled second pin beyond the labelled Digital Pin AREF) and the SCD's RX / SDA pin to the Uno's SDA pin (being the unlabelled pin next to the labelled Digital Pin AREF). I hesitate to just link them up given your reports on how fragile the sensor is. Could someone confirm this is what I should be doing?

@bobmehew, do not hijack. Thread split.

Hi bobmehew,

I'm a novice here too, but my understanding is that the SCD30 can communicate either through Modbus (Tx/Rx) or through I2C (SDA/SCL). The Sparkfun library uses the I2C mode and relies on the Wire library. So, yes you should be connecting to the SCL/SDA pins on the Arduino. You should also leave the SEL pin on the SCD30 floating.

As for static shock sensitivity, I took fairly drastic measures to ensure my sensor was not damaged since my first one didn't work. I don't know if they were necessary since I don't know the cause of the first one not working - could be static or just defective. I think if you ensure that the arduino, scd30, and you are well grounded it should be fine. You can use static gloves or electrical tape on your fingers if you want to be extra safe. You can also check out how to handle sensitive devices here: IBM Documentation

If it doesn't work with those pins, try A4 (SDA), A5 (SCL) (from: Wire - Arduino Reference).

Good luck!

Thanks for the information caplanda.