Schrödinger's clock

I'm very new to arduino, but i've learned as much as i can. im trying to create a self reliant program that will turn on lights at the same time each day (aquarium) it also has to monitor temp and turn heater on if required.

i have downloaded,tested and inspected numerous timer routines, whether they refer ,or not, to (millis) is completely irrelevant, whether they get signals from this place or that place is neither here nor there, they all have the fatal flow in that they are not (gmt) timers but just loop counters. you may as well declare seconds =seconds +1 delay (1000)

as soon as you tell arduino to do something at (x) time then you stop the timer, if this loop/subroutine ran at a constant rate then you could add time to timer routine to get where you left off. but not all routines/loops that are called are for a definitive time. the timer is in essence like schrodingers cat , that being that it will absolutely tell the correct time until you say, "What time is it Arduino?". this question and reply from arduino takes time and slows the clock.

am i correct or am i completely missing something?

millis() does not have this drawback but is relative to when the Arduino first received power and not GMT.

A Real Time Clock shield can give your Arduino GMT but is an additional cost.

References to millis() are not irrelevant if you look at the correct examples. See the Blink Without Delay example for one such example.

What you are asking to do is not impossible and has been done before.

You can purchase RTC's on eBay for under a dollar. Googling "Arduino RTC" turns up about 390,000 hits, so one of those will likely help.

craig68: the timer is in essence like schrodingers cat , that being that it will absolutely tell the correct time until you say, "What time is it Arduino?". this question and reply from arduino takes time and slows the clock.

am i correct or am i completely missing something?