Science Fair

Greetings, I am looking to do a science fair involving arduino and possibly computer science. I have hit a creative wall for Ideas. The project needs to be experimental in nature, not a demonstration. I am better at the programming side of things, though I am not an expert. I would greatly appreciate some help in formulating an idea for this project. Thank you for anything you might find relevant.

Ummm, how about finding the distance between two or more arduinos using either Bluetooth or RF without using any built-in signal meters in a crowded room. (which means ping sensors are out)

How about a human reaction speed experiment such as what they use for testing racing car drivers. It displays a random series of lights in the users peripheral vision then measures their reaction time via a thumb switch, foot pedal or whatever. At a science fair it could be interactive, rather than just a static display.

How much time have you got to prepare your project?

Is there any general theme for the Science Fair?

Do you want to use the occasion to encourage interest in the Arduino or is the Arduino just a tool that you may use if it is useful?

What is your financial limit?

This is one of those cases where my previous boss’s comment is relevant “work back from the press release”.

…R

everyone loves the volcano.

you can have a PIR ( motion sensor) detect when people are around, the at the best moment, explode with great hurling bits of baking soda and vinegar, or better yet Coca-Cola and Mentos.

plant watering system.

get a plant that likes sandy soil. use a container with a tiny pin hole.and filter (cotton) to keep it from clogging. use a soil moisture sensor, fill. it will drain over time and then re-fill. set the sensor so it repeats often enough to keep peoples attention.

CAUTION, Coca-Cola is a nice earth brown. with an over abundance of Mentos, it will shoot up a foot or two.
DIET coke will shoot up 6 feet or more !