Science project feasibility

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to arduino but was recommended by a friend to use one of the platforms to build a prototype for a simple (in terms of low input/output and programming) "stimuli" producing device.

We currently use 6V 10Ah batteries to power all of our devices. I know this voltage is a bit low but perhaps I could step it up?

The only input would be a photocell that would trigger 4 flashing green LEDs at night.

Other outputs would be 3 small fans (5V, .18A, 20 mm x 20 mm) and 2 small speakers (.1 W).

I would also like to produce a small amount of heat (~100F), I'll just experiment with some resistors.

The only thing that would be on continually would be the LEDs and those are only on at night.

The fans would "burst" about every 2 hours but they would not need to burst simultaneously, they could do it in succession (less current draw).

The speakers would produce an irregular beat, at most just a tick tock/click/heartbeat (~40 BPM) and these wouldn't be on all the time.

I know it sounds wacky but I'm trying to produce irregular stimuli. I'll have a 24 hour program.

Well, I think I'll just buy an UNO and start tinkering!

At the beginning I thought you wanted to stimulate somebody to program . . . . :sweat_smile:

You have no big needs; concerning on the # of inputs (1) outputs you need an uno is enough. You will need, of course, some hardware to move the fans, generate heat (whatever you are going to heat -What's 100F?-), etcetera.