SCL line held low by slave while trying to read Vcc of slave

Before I begin I would like to add that I’m new to the world of electronics and I2c communication as well. So I would request all of you experts to answer my questions in a novice level :slight_smile:

I have an arduino Uno as a master and doing an isolated communication through an ISO1540 (http://www.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/pdf/462113/TI1/ISO1540.html). I am using pullup resistors of value 4k7 on the master’s and slave’s side. I am making it control two slaves. The slaves are stand alone Atmega328p with internal 8MHz oscillator. The master is powered up by my laptop (approx. 5V) and the slaves are powered up by separate 4.2V LiPo batteries. The purpose of this setup is when the master asks, the slaves measure their own Vcc and send it to the master. Based on that value the master does some thinking and sends back some data to the slaves. When the master gets powered off, then the slaves go to sleep mode in 0.5 seconds. The code I wanted to use for the slave is below:

#include <Wire.h>
#include <avr/sleep.h>

int count = 0;
void setup() {

Wire.begin (2);
  Wire.onReceive (receiveEvent);
  Wire.onRequest (requestEvent);
  pinMode (2, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() {
  delay (100);
  comm_check (1);

}

void requestEvent (){

long result; // Read 1.1V reference against AVcc
 ADMUX = _BV(REFS0) | _BV(MUX3) | _BV(MUX2) | _BV(MUX1); 
 delay(2);
 // Wait for Vref to settle
 ADCSRA |= _BV(ADSC); // Convert
 while (bit_is_set(ADCSRA,ADSC));
 result = ADCL; 
 result |= ADCH<<8;
 result = 1126400L / result;

char svalue [4] ;
  dtostrf (fvalue , 4 , 2 , svalue);
  Wire.write (svalue);
  comm_check (0);

}

void receiveEvent (){

while (Wire.available ()){
    char c = Wire.read ();
    if (c == '1')
    digitalWrite (2, HIGH);
    else
    digitalWrite (2, LOW);
  }
}
void comm_check (int c){

if (c == 1)
  count ++;
  else if (c == 0)
  count = 0;

if (count >= 5)
    sleep_time();
}

void sleep_time(){