scope scope scope

Hi,
I am new to this environment. So a couple of questions about scope and options on storing things: First let me list this my first arduino program:
code

//#include <CmdMessenger.h> // CmdMessenger
//#include <printf.h>
#include <arduino.h>
//OUTPUTS

#define PIN_LED 6
#define Fan1 2
#define Fan2 3
#define Heater1 4
#define Heater2 5
#define UpButton 8
#define DownButton 9

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600);

//Enable Inputs
pinMode(UpButton, INPUT);
pinMode(DownButton, INPUT);
pinMode(PIN_LED, OUTPUT);
pinMode(Heater1, OUTPUT);
pinMode(Heater2, OUTPUT);
pinMode(Fan1, OUTPUT);
pinMode(Fan2, OUTPUT);
//digitalWrite(PIN_LED, HIGH);
Serial.println(“Begin”);
}

void loop()
{
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:

// get buttons

int timeTrackUp = 0; // used to keep track of how long the up button has been held down
int timeTrackDown = 0; // used to keep track of how long the down button has been held down
float tempSetPoint;
float tempActualA;
float tempActualB;
float averageTemp;
int analog1;
int analog2;
int tempChange;
int thermo1 = 14;
int thermo2 = 15;
int ledcount = 0;
digitalWrite(PIN_LED, HIGH);
#ifdef debug then
Serial.println(“Running”);
#endif
if (digitalRead(UpButton))
{
delay(10);
if (digitalRead(UpButton))
{
#ifdef debug then
Serial.println(“Up”);
#endif
}
}
if (digitalRead(DownButton))
{
delay(10);
if (digitalRead(DownButton))
{
#ifdef debug then
Serial.println(“Down”);
#endif
}
}

// read temps
analog1 = analogRead(thermo1);
analog2 = analogRead(thermo2);
// insert convert code here.
tempActualA = (float) analog1 / 760 * 450;
tempActualB = (float) analog2 / 760 * 450;
averageTemp = (tempActualA + tempActualB) / 2;

delay(1000);
digitalWrite(PIN_LED,LOW);
if (averageTemp < (tempSetPoint -2))
{
digitalWrite(Fan1,HIGH);
digitalWrite(Fan2,HIGH);
digitalWrite(Heater1,HIGH);
digitalWrite(Heater2,HIGH);
}

if (averageTemp > (tempSetPoint +2))
{
digitalWrite(Fan1,LOW);