SD card module SPI pins

Hello everyone, I'm quite new to arduino and I'm working on a project. In this project, I have to use an LCD Keypadshield and an SD card module at the same time. The problem is that the LCD Keypadshield occupies pins 10 11 12 13 but I have read that I need to use SPI pins for the SD card module and for arduino pins 10, 11, 12, 13 are SPI pins. Is there any way I can use the LCD Keypadshield and SD card module together?

Thank you for your help...

Yes.

SPI supports more than 1 device on the "bus". All devices share the same MOSI (pin 11), MISO (pin 12) & SCK ( pin 13) signals. Each device has a separate SS (Slave Select or Chip Select) signal which you may need to control yourself depending on the functionality provided by the library you are using.

On the Arduino UNO, the pin labelled 10 is usually used as the first SS signal as it stops the micro accidentally becoming an SPI slave device when it is used as an output.

Check the library for the SD card and the LCD to see if they allow you to specify an alternative SS pin. It's usually done as part of the call to begin() for the LCD or SD card.

EDIT: I forgot to add that some SD card modules do not play nice with other devices on the SPI bus because of the way they drive the MISO signal.

markd833:
Yes.

SPI supports more than 1 device on the “bus”. All devices share the same MOSI (pin 11), MISO (pin 12) & SCK ( pin 13) signals. Each device has a separate SS (Slave Select or Chip Select) signal which you may need to control yourself depending on the functionality provided by the library you are using.

On the Arduino UNO, the pin labelled 10 is usually used as the first SS signal as it stops the micro accidentally becoming an SPI slave device when it is used as an output.

Check the library for the SD card and the LCD to see if they allow you to specify an alternative SS pin. It’s usually done as part of the call to begin() for the LCD or SD card.