Sdfat Library (Sd Card Size & Free Space)

Hello guys,

Until a while back I was using the SD.h library, that as fat16lib says, it’s just a wraper for a old version of Sdfat.
So, the first time I was trying to understand the Sdfat library, it was updated to be “compatible” with the SD.h, so I tought, “how lucky I’m I can still use the same code with the new and improved library without any extra work”.

I’m not a programmer, and I have almost no experience in programming, everything I learned, I learned alone with the try and error techinique and ALOT of copy / paste and Google research. That the way I’m, and I like to think that I learn this way, and I’m very glad with the results I got so far. I can’t say that my code have the best pratices, but at least I mannage to do what I want (with the help of everyone here, I would dare to say almost everything I want :P).

So, now the time as came, and I finally decided to study the SdFat library, that as I see, is ALOT more complex and much more difficult to understand, with all that classes and everything else. But I finnaly manage to change my code from the old File class, to the new SdFile class and it’s commands. Once I finnaly understand it, it isn’t so different, and not so difficult after all, because the really nice documentation available.

But I’m struggling with a little piece of code.
Every where I look here on the forum give some different way of calculating the Sd Card Size and the Free Space Available, and I couldn’t manage any of these to return me the correct values for my card.

Here is the output I have from SdInfo as base.

cardSize: 1952.45 MB (MB = 1,000,000 bytes)
freeSpace: 1951.89 MB (MB = 1,000,000 bytes)

Ok, now I know that the SdInfo example calculates the free space based on the free clusters, so I tried to make this code below to suit my needs.

#include <SdFat.h>
SdFat SD;

void setup() {
  Serial.print(F("SD Card"));
  if (SD.begin(SD_CHIP_SELECT, SPI_FULL_SPEED)) {