Seatbelt Sensor and Detector (Anyone good with schematic or coding, I need you)

Hello Fellow Programmers!

I am relatively new to the logistics of hardware and software and am desperately looking for advice!

I am enrolled in an engineering course at my school, and we all have a final project that we need to present
to judges. I am not looking for idea's for a project, but more advice and help on how to carry my project out.

My Idea is a device that would be able to detect when someone is not wearing a seatbelt. This seemed like a useful creation due to most states trying to crack down on seat belt neglectors. I am planning on just making a rather messy prototype with an arduino, and I think I know what I need to do, but not how to do it.

It will probably use some sort of pressure sensor in a seat to actually determine if someone is actually in the seat, where it will then use a logic gate to send out a signal if the pressure sensor is detecting an occupant and the seat belt (Or quite possibly a switch) is not activated. Then there will be a device that would tell you if the seat belt is off.

If anyone has any ideas to revise my plan, I am open to anything. I am really just looking for anyone who could help out with schematics and a code for this project. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Most cars these days have that built in already. You could either hack the sensors that are already there, or even easier just sniff the data off the OBD2 port on the car.

Duplicate shorter post in another forum has been deleted.

I really do apperciate that advise, but I am extremely new to programming and hardware...

I can't really do much on an arduino let alone a car...

zizick123:
I really do apperciate that advise, but I am extremely new to programming and hardware...