Seeking for explanations regarding LM317

Hi, electronic noob here. Could anyone help me explain how LM317 works? I got the resistor value part, but anyone able to help me explain (in layman terms) how output is adjusted in terms of voltage? I'm scared of a huge combination of resistance values, and I want to know if I can apply a consistent voltage on the Adj pin, and if that's possible, what is the relation between V(adj) and V(output)?
Thank you very much people! :slight_smile:

The LM317 passes current from Vin to Vout in whatever amount is necessary to keep Vout the amount of the reference voltage (1.2V or whatever) above that on the Adj pin.

Part of the calculation is that the current it feeds into the Adj pin is very low and quite constant, so that you can compensate for it in the design of the voltage divider.

To the extent that the output voltage goes too high, then the voltage on each part of the voltage divider would rise, and the voltage between Vout and Adj would increase, causing the regulator to pass less current to Vout and bring the voltage back to the point where the reference voltage as a proportion of the total output voltage corresponds to the ratio of the resistor between Vout and Adj to the total resistance of the two resistors, and the converse if the output voltage goes too low.

The adjustment pin is a negative-feedback pin. If the voltage on that pin goes above 1.2V, the voltage on the output pin goes down. If the voltage is below 1.2V, the voltage goes up.

When you add two resistors, you create a [u]Voltage Divider[/u] where the voltage on the adjustment/reference pin is proportional to the output voltage. Since the device is in a constant state of negative feedback, the voltage is held constant.

Negative feedback is used a lot in analog electronics. And, negative feedback is how you keep your car on the road... It drifts a little to the left, so you steer a little to the right.