Seeking guidance for first project

I am building a spaceship control panel for my sons bedroom and want some of the switches to trigger sound effects, I'm guessing this is a project that could be well suited to arduino?

I have zero experience of arduino so am looking for guidance with the whole selection process and wouldovd direction to similar projects if you know of any please.

Ideally I want to playback multiple mp3 files with a number of physical buttons and switches as the triggers.

All help is welcome. Thanks.

I guess I will need a computer to program things, I have a Windows 10 pc if that matters.

It's very feasible, although perhaps a little tricky as a first project. The number of switches/buttons you want to use will influence which Arduino you need. Google arduino mp3, that'll find you hardware and tutorials - Sparkfun and Adafruit both carry shields (Arduino daughter boards) that will play mp3s stored on a micro SD card. Just be aware that they need a bit of soldering before you can attach them to an Arduino.

You can start your project and start your learning adventure at the same time, cause that's exactly why Arduino was invented! Get a "tactile, momentary, SPST switch (aka a button), some colored LEDs, and an Arduino (the ubiquitous Uno is great for this, or a Nano, or Micro) any Arduino that has a USB port will work. You will also need some wire, and some resistors (330 ohm is a good value) and maybe a breadboard. Now make a device that will flash different LEDs when different buttons are pressed.

Once that works, you are on your way, and can start on the sound effects, etc!