Seemingly Random Characters

Hi All,

I am following the lcd tutorial here:
http://www.hacktronics.com/Tutorials/arduino-character-lcd-tutorial.html

I was getting a lit blue screen only from another tutorial now the backlight is on but with random characters instead of the Hello World message.
The code compiles and uploads and I used the serial monitor to see if all code being executed and it is.
I am new to Arduino although a (veteran) electrician and understand the basics.
The lcd and all other stuff is from the Arduino Starter Kit and I am using Sublime Text2 with this (GitHub - Robot-Will/Stino: A Sublime Text Plugin for Arduino) plugin.

Any insight would be great.
Thanks

Jim

We need pictures. In order to see the "random characters". Are they the same every time you turn it on?

Pictures must be perfectly focused, and in good light. Show clearly your wiring.

And an actual copy of your code, in "code tags" (if unsure what that is, read the instructions) within your posting, not an attachment.

Firstly,
Thanks for the reply.
My sketch code below and below that some images of the arduino and lcd.
If I disconnect power through the usb and reconnect I get a different set of characters.
Pin 13 and 3 I put through 220ohm resistors.

//Here is the driver code:
/* ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- */
// character LCD example code
// www.hacktronics.com

// Connections:
// rs (LCD pin 4) to Arduino pin 12
// rw (LCD pin 5) to Arduino pin 11
// enable (LCD pin 6) to Arduino pin 10
// LCD pin 15 to Arduino pin 13
// LCD pins d4, d5, d6, d7 to Arduino pins 5, 4, 3, 2

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd (12, 11, 10, 5, 4, 3, 2);

int backLight = 13;    // pin 13 will control the backlight

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(9600);	
  pinMode(backLight, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(backLight, HIGH); // turn backlight on. Replace 'HIGH' with 'LOW' to turn it off.
  Serial.println("Set Backlight");