sei() and cli() inside interupt service routines

I'm studying the code which drives the colorduino. It sets up an interupt on overflow of timer 2, but uses sei() and cli() within the interrupt routine. Are they neccessary? Are they dangerous? I thought that when serviciing an interrupt sei and cli are handled "automatically".

Here is the code:

ISR(TIMER2_OVF_vect)          //Timer2  Service 
{ 
  cli();  
  TCNT2 = 0x64;      //flash a led matrix frequency is 100.3Hz,period is 9.97ms
  //TCNT2 = 0x63;      //flash a led matrix frequency is 99.66Hz,period is 10.034ms   
    if(line > 7) line = 0;    
    close_all_line; // switch off all 8 bits 
    run(line); 
    open_line(line); // switch on a give line
    line++;
    sei();
}

I'm studying the code which drives the colorduino. It sets up an interupt on overflow of timer 2, but uses sei() and cli() within the interrupt routine.

Are they neccessary?

No. On entry to a ISR, All interrupts are automatically disabled. So only if you need to re-enable them inside the ISR to allow for 'nested' interrupts to be serviced while inside your ISR.

Are they dangerous?

Probably more complex then dangerous, but certainly not for the weak of heart or mind. ;)

I thought that when serviciing an interrupt sei and cli are handled "automatically".

Yes, upon servicing the orginal interrupt all other interrupts are globably disabled and upon completion of the ISR, interrupts are re-enabled, all automatically. Only if you have a requirement for enabling interrupts while inside your ISR do you need to deal with sei() and cli().

Lefty

retrolefty: On entry to a ISR, All interrupts are automatically disabled. So only if you need to re-enable them inside the ISR to allow for 'nested' interrupts to be serviced while inside your ISR.

The code seems to include no other interrupt handlers so I imagine I can take out sei and cli, I'll try.

Thanks for the feedback!

ofransen: