Self adjusting amplifier for signal processing

New to electronic engineering, having difficulty finding correct search words to learn more.

Hi guys, I want to create a series of logic gates which will have a low voltage input signal on one end similar to AM, and a very simple boolean output signal on the other end which I will convert into a video output.

Heres the crux though, I want some type of digital potentiometer or possibly a gain component between each logic gate, and I want that potetiometet/gain to be automatically adjusted up or down depending on the final output (the video) was correct or incorrect(determined by me).

I am wondering, is this possible? Thank you to anyone who may give me some direction in my study. Keywords I have been reading up on (gain, amplifier, rectifier, diode, signal processing, potentiometer, etc). My background is light computer programming, business, sales and construction.

A voltage comparator can create a boolean signal (below/above threshold) from analog input signals. The other comparator input can go to a pot, for manual threshold setting, or to a DAC controlled by an Arduino.

Please describe the low voltage signal. What is the source, the voltage (peak to peak) and the frequency, if applicable.

Why do you think the amplifier needs to be "self adjusting"?

A "simple boolean signal" is a 1 or a 0. Not something that you would normally consider converting to a video output.

Hi,

“Automatic Gain Control”

Is what you are looking to search for.

Tom… :slight_smile:

Electronewb11: I want to create a series of logic gates which will have a low voltage input signal on one end similar to AM, and a very simple boolean output signal on the other end which I will convert into a video output.

Sounds exactly like a X-Y Problem

You can't mix logic signals with analogue signals and you can't convert it to a video signal. Unless of course you don't mean what you write.

TomGeorge: "Automatic Gain Control"