Send data from Arduino using ESP8266 (please help, beginner here)

I’m a beginner at this, so please bear with me.

I have two IR sensors connected to an Arduino Uno, which I am using as a counter. The sketch for the counter is working as expected. The Arduino prints the counter value in the serial monitor.

const int sensorPin = A1;    // pin that the sensor is attached to
int sensA;                      //    Declaring VARIABLES
int thresh;
int ctr=0;
int state=LOW;
int lastState=LOW;
int count=0;
void setup()
{

Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(4, INPUT);
pinMode(A1, OUTPUT);
state=digitalRead(4);
}

void loop() 
{
sensA = analogRead(sensorPin);        // READ SENSOR
thresh = 835;                  //  CHANGE THE VALUE OF THRESHOLD ACCORDING TO THE AMBIENT LIGHT
if(sensA<thresh)
{
ctr=1;                                      
delay(1);

if (state==HIGH && lastState==LOW){
count++;
Serial.println(count);
analogWrite(A0, count);
}
lastState=state;
state=digitalRead(4);
delay(10);
}
else{ctr=0;
count=0;

}

}

I now need the ESP8266-01 to read the counter value (maybe from the Serial Monitor, I don’t really know), and send it to a dashboard online. I’m using Ubidots for this.

I used Ubidots’ tutorial (Link: https://ubidots.com/docs/devices/ESP8266-arduino.html) but the ESP is sending -1 only.

#include <UbidotsMicroESP8266.h>
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

#define _rxpin      2
#define _txpin      3
SoftwareSerial readerSerial( _rxpin, _txpin ); // RX, TX

#define SSID "SSID"
#define PASS "PASSWORD"

#define TOKEN "token"
#define ID "variableID" // Replace it with your Ubidots' variable ID

Ubidots client(TOKEN);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  client.wifiConnection(SSID,PASS);
}
void loop() {

float value = Serial.read();
  client.add(ID,value);
  client.sendAll();
  delay(1000);
}

Can you please tell me how to go about this? I am new to this (clearly) so I don’t know what to do next. Is there some other way to get the ESP to read the Arduino output?