Send serial data via USB to Arduino Uno via pins 0 and 1

Okay, I apologise in advance. This is probably in the wrong place and all wrong in general. But I have no idea how to get going with this :confused:

I have an Arduino Uno. What I want to do is write a program on my computer in Python which, given some inputs, will send some data to the Uno via a USB cable connected at one end to my computer, and at the other to pins 0 and 1 on the Uno.

I want to use Python, as I'm getting the data from web APIs, processing it, and then I want the Uno to do stuff based on the output from the API.

I can (probably) sort the Python bit myself, as I have a lot of experience with it.

Please try not to laugh or shout as this is a bit crude, but I was thinking of just cutting open an old USB cable, and plugging the D+ and D- into pins 0 and 1, send some data as see what happens.

However, after having a look around, I found this post and am now confused if I need one of those things there?

This doesn't seem that tricky to do, but I'm struggling with it....

fukqoxuwi: I was thinking of just cutting open an old USB cable, and plugging the D+ and D- into pins 0 and 1, send some data as see what happens.

It is possible to do USB emulation in software with a few extra components but for your purposes that would be completely pointless since the Uno has a built in USB to TTL serial converter chip already connected to pins 0 and 1.

fukqoxuwi: and am now confused if I need one of those things there?

No, because the Uno has a built in one of those already connected to pins 0 and 1. You just plug a regular USB cable into the USB socket on the Uno and you're good to go. The USB-serial chip on the Uno creates a virtual COM port on your computer and you just need to send serial data from your Python program to that COM port. You're making things way more complicated than necessary.

fukqoxuwi:
now confused if I need one of those things there?