Send String Command through digital pin? is it possible?

Hello everyone.
I have this lock controller from Southco. It's called the Southco EA-A06-001 and it controls locks from Southco. The lock controller has a serial communication.

This lock controller is a USB controller, meaning I can open and close the lock using a computer. I use a software called YAT ( Yet Another Terminal) to open and close the locks that are connected to the lock controller.

The commands I send on the software (YAT) is a simple 'open1'(opens lock#1) 'close1'(closes lock#1)

My question is, is it possible to send the command through arduino? like send the string command 'open1' through one of the digital pins.

I'm very new to arduino programming so I don't have a lot of knowledge towards this and I'm not even sure if this is possible because I contacted Southco and they told me that since the Lock Controller is USB controlled I would need to open up the controller and wire an arduino after the FTDI chip? which i have no idea what it means btw.

I'm gonna need all the help i can get.

Thank you!

What baud rate?

The Southco EA-A06-001 uses USB. So you need a USB host shield.

I did a quick search but could not (quickly) find a link where people succeeded in using serial communication though an USB host shield; not said it can't be done.

Are you prepared to modify the Southco EA-A06-001? If so, open it up and take sharp photos and post here.

sterretje:
The Southco EA-A06-001 uses USB. So you need a USB host shield.

I did a quick search but could not (quickly) find a link where people succeeded in using serial communication though an USB host shield; not said it can't be done.

Are you prepared to modify the Southco EA-A06-001? If so, open it up and take sharp photos and post here.

Assuming I have a USB shield, how can I make the arduino send the command to the Lock Controller?
Which pin in the arduino can i use to send a string command to the lock controller?