Sending a remote code through IR

Hello I have been having trouble, probably because I am a noob lol I simply would like to send and ir code through my ir led. So lets say that way I can turn a tv off and on. Could someone please give me an example. :-[

a google search for: arduino ir tv brings up a lot of links that may be of use.

Also be sure to check this guy out:

http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_tvbg_main.php

Would it be a line like this?

digitalWrite(irled, youcode here);

Would it be a line like this?

digitalWrite(irled, youcode here);

No, I'm sorry, it's a bit more complicated than that. "yourcode here" can, in reality, take only one of two values, HIGH or LOW.

To send a code, you have to send a stream of carefully timed HIGHs and LOWs, and even that is probably an over-simplification. Depending on the remote mfr, the HIGHs could be a short stream of even shorter pulses (modulation).

Sorry, you've got some reading to do. Good news is, there's lots of help and software out there.

Well why is it that I can go to my local radioshack and buy a remote, then I can program the code that is for my tv into it. I dont need to measures pulses lol.

Well why is it that I can go to my local radioshack and buy a remote, then I can program the code that is for my tv into it.

Because someone else has already taken the trouble to program the microcontroller in the RadioShack remote to replay stored codes.

Well why is it that I can go to my local radioshack and buy a remote, then I can program the code that is for my tv into it. I dont need to measures pulses lol.

:o

Lawl.
Well, I’ve got the 38 KHZ Receiver(http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2049727) to work with a sample code I found online… And I understand it’s coded for a different remote, so I always get a button 0 Response, but also I get the values in.