Sending a variable to an LCD4884

I am very new to Arduino and am having problems sending variables to an LCD4884 display. I have read much on this but still cannot make it function. The following snippets are from a sketch I have written in v.0.22 with an Ethernet Shield and an LCD4884 attached to a Duemilanova…

byte dht_dat[4];//Array to hold the bytes sent from sensor.    

//printing it out...
 Serial.println("Back Room "); 
      client.print("<h2>Back Room<h2>");
      client.println("<h3>
<h3>");
      Serial.print("Humidity   : "); 
      client.print("<h3>Humidity: ");
      client.print(dht_dat[0], DEC);
      Serial.print(dht_dat[0], DEC);
      client.print(".");
      Serial.print(".");
      client.print(dht_dat[1], DEC);
      Serial.print(dht_dat[1], DEC);
      client.print("%  ");
      client.println("
");
      Serial.print("%  \n");

This works pefectly well and gives me the expected output on both the Serial Monitor and on my Web Page. However when I try to print the actual reading to the LCD4884 using the following statements I get nothing or randomn pixels.

lcd.LCD_write_string(MENU_X, MENU_Y, dht_dat[0],MENU_NORMAL);

The Wiki article suggests using itoa, but when I use the following code I always get a ‘0’

int counter = dht_dat[0]; 
 char string[10]; 
     itoa(counter,string,10);
     lcd.LCD_write_string(MENU_X, MENU_Y + 1, string, MENU_NORMAL);

I can’t help but feel I am missing somthing staggeringly basic. Any assistance would be gratefully acepted.

I can't help but feel I am missing somthing staggeringly basic.

Me, too. But, without seeing all of your code, we'd just be whistling in the dark, and I don't think that would help you much.

If the code is large, then use the option under Additional Options... below the text entry box to add the file as an attachment.

Or, even better, create a small sketch that illustrates the problem and post that.