Sending data from VB2010 to Arduino

Hey guys,

I am new to arduino and VB but have programming experience with C, although not great with it. I just made a little mini maze game in VB, and would like to send data to an arduino with certain events. I.e when the mouse pointer hits a wall, it will send some data so that the arduino can recognize that happening and will process this data. What is the best way to do this?

Thanks guys

In your VB application have it open a com port to communicate with the arduino, then send the desired data to the arduino for what ever you want it to do.

What is the best way to do this?

With some real requirements.

The only way for the PC and the Arduino to communicate is via the serial port. The PC sends data to the serial port. The Arduino reads it. The Arduino sends data to the serial port. The PC reads it.

I.e when the mouse pointer hits a wall, it will send some data so that the arduino can recognize that happening and will process this data.

Where is this wall the mouse pointer (do you mean cursor?) going to hit? What is the Arduino supposed to do? With what data is it supposed to do it? Is the Arduino supposed to reply in some fashion? What will the PC do with the reply?

Having the PC talk to the Arduino, and get replies is easy. Defining what triggers the sending of data, what data is to be sent, how that data is to be interpreted by the receiver, what action is to be performed, and what reply is to be sent, and how that reply is to be understood, and what the PC does with the response is the hard part.