Sending digital signal from one ardunio board to another to detect button push?

Hello everyone,

I am new to ardunio programming and this forum and am having an issue sending a signal from one ardunio board to another. I have spent several hours looking online for the answer to this issue and have been unable to find anything. I am asking here in hopes that someone can help me out and I apologize in advance if this is a stupid question, keep in mind I am new to this

The project I am working on calls for sending a signal from one ardunio board to another via wiring as they will be separated by roughly 10 feet when finally installed. The setup calls for the ardunio to have 4 different buttons hooked up. 3 of these buttons will operate momentary on switches while the final button will be a constant on until released.

The master ardunio will need to be able to detect which of these buttons has been activated and send a signal through the corresponding wire to the slave ardunio to have it operate relays connected to several devices. I am wanting to do this by assigning a digital pin on the master ardunio as an OUTPUT which will then connect to a digital pin on the second ardunio that is set to an INPUT. When the second ardunio detects the signal from the master board it would then execute the assigned routine.

I have all physical equipment hooked up in a test space and everything seems to be working as far as the coding side of things goes but the issue I am having is that it seems as though the slave arduino thinks that the master ardunio is always sending it a HIGH signal even when the button is not pushed.