Sending incoming data as Binary to led or light.

Hi,

I have a problem.

I am working on Project and the project is transmitting data through led or light.

I don’t know how to insert incoming data form Arduino console. and don’t know how to even create a transmitter and receiver.

I am a complete beginner at C++ (and Arduino) and have tried to write some code and this what I come up with. I tried to use a bit method where the transmitter data convert data (like a word or sentence) to bits and sends it out to the receiver and the receiver reassembles the incoming data to words.

#define Laser 13
void setup() {
  pinMode(Laser, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {

String incoming = "Hello World";
  //start bit
  digitalWrite(Laser, HIGH);
  delay(200);
  digitalWrite(Laser, LOW);
  for (int i = 0; i < incoming.length(); i++) {

char ac = incoming.charAt(i);

for (int i = 7; i >= 0; i--) {
      byte bytes = byte(ac, i);
      byte bytess = bytes, BIN;
      digitalWrite(Laser, bytess);
      delay(200);
    }

digitalWrite(Laser, LOW);

delay(1000);
  }
}

Thanks a lot.

byte bytes = byte(ac, i);
      byte bytess = bytes, BIN;

Try bitRead instead

I have already tried but it didn't work.

the laser has turned on once wich

digitalWrite(LASERPIN, HIGH);
  delay(200);
  digitalWrite(LASERPIN, LOW);

caused it.

jwank:
I have already tried but it didn’t work.

Well, for most definitions of the word, the junk you posted won’t “work” either.

Give bitRead another try

well like I said I have no clue in c++. If it is possible can you write a “good” code down?
I would really I appreciate it if did.

You just need to isolate each bit in “ac” using bitRead repeatedly, and turn the LED on or off appropriately.

I don’t know what the good code would be, because I don’t know what your serial protocol is.