Sending integers with virtual wire

I am using an rf link from Sparkfun to transmit data to control servos. I decided to use the VirtualWire library, and I am having issues sending the data. I am fairly new to arduino and don't quite understand how this library works. The only way I was able to send data was in the const char form (modifying the examples from the library). I was able to convert the int into a string for the transmitter and it was able to transmit properly. But I don't know if there is any way to convert the const char that the receiver reads to an integer or if there is a way to send an integer without converting it to a string?

But I don't know if there is any way to convert the const char that the receiver reads to an integer

That would be what the atoi (ascii to integer) function does.

So if I use the atoi function then it will store an integer in a string? also I need to be able to use that data as an integer on the receiving arduino. I used the int() command to put the data the receiver gets into integer form. It worked but it put 256 on the end of the integer. Can I read certain digits on an integer. Also, the transmitter sends information in uint8_t, which I beleive is just a byte, should I be sending the information in another form?

So if I use the atoi function then it will store an integer in a string?

No. The atoi function converts a string to an integer. The itoa function converts an integer to a string.

The int() function casts an integer-type (but not size) value to an integer. It is NOT the function you want to be using.

Ok, let me change the code and see if it works

Well I tried it out and it still did not work exactly correct. I am trying to use the transmitted information to control a servo but every time I try it, it never works. Here is the code I am using for the transmitter (there is a pot on pin 1)

#include <VirtualWire.h>

int Rtrig;
char Rstr[5];

void setup()
{
vw_setup(2000); // Bits per sec
Serial.begin(9600);
}