Sending modifiers (KEY_LEFT_CTRL) + keystroke in an array? Also keyboard repeat.

Hello there, newbie here.

I currently have this code which works to debounce a set of simple push buttons so when pressed they simply send keystronkes (a, b, c, etc respectively)

I have two questions

• I was shown this method of setting button output which works really well for a 3rd party program I’m writing to configure the buttons. The problem is I don’t know how to send key modifiers (like adding ctrl to ‘z’ to perform an undo command) with the way it currently is. I know the arduino modifier is KEY_LEFT_CTRL. Say I wanted to change the button below that delivers ‘A’ to act as ctrl+z instead. I am looking to swap out {0, sw0, ‘A’} for something like {0, sw0, KEY_LEFT_CTRL + ‘z’} (which doesn’t work obviously) to make this happen in order to keep this array format in tact for easy configuring. Is this possible? I looked for a way to inject the hex even like 0x80+z but that was also a no go.

• The current method delivers one keystroke per press but stops output even if you hold the button down. I’d like to change it to act like a keyboard (press and hold delivers one keystroke, waits a second, then starts repeating the keystroke until you let go.) I don’t know where to begin with that.

Any help would be awesome and appreciated, thanks!

enum { sw0=3, sw1=4, sw2=5, sw3=6, sw4=7, sw5=8, sw6=9, sw7=10}; // Switchbutton lines
enum { nSwitches=8, bounceMillis=42}; // # of switches; debounce delay
struct ButtonStruct {
  unsigned long int bounceEnd;  // Debouncing-flag and end-time
  // Switch number, press-action, release-action, and prev reading
  byte swiNum, swiActP, swiActR, swiPrev;
};

struct ButtonStruct buttons[nSwitches] = {
  {0, sw0, 'A'}, 
  {0, sw1, 'B'}, 
  {0, sw2, 'C'}, 
  {0, sw3, 'D'},
  {0, sw4, 'E'},
  {0, sw5, 'F'},
  {0, sw6, 'G'},
  {0, sw7, 'H'}};
//--------------------------------------------------------
void setup() {
  for (int i=0; i<nSwitches; ++i)