Sending numbers via Serial with VB.

For starters you guys have to know that I'm very new to the world of micro-controllers and programming, so be gentle!

I've been messing around with the Arduino Mega for a while. (Doing a bunch of the small tutorials and the project "Secret door knock detector", Google it for more info)

I understand how it hangs together, the programming and outputs, inputs and all, but I can't write anything of my own.

What I want to do is to use Visual Basic to make my own program that can send "a, b, c, d, or e" and so on by clicking on buttons.

Like they do here : arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/SwitchCase2 - only without Serial Monitor.

So if I click for example a button in VB one of the LED's light up so I can switch the LED's with Relay's and use it to controll other things with pictures in a exe. program !

Bearing with me? :stuck_out_tongue:

Tell me if this made no sence at all. I just need some help getting this done ! :smiley:

If you've got the SwitchCase2 tutorial sorted and you know how it works with the serial monitor, then your problem is not with the Arduino, but with VB.
I think you need to ask your question in a VB forum.

Which version of VB?

The version 6 and before is very different from the .net versions.

AWOL @
Yeah, I see that now. But there might be someone that can help me here too.
Could you link me to a good VB forum? :slight_smile:

MikMo@
I have Visual Basic 2008 Express. I can probably get the 2006 version.

There is some information on interfacing VB.NET with the Arduino here:
Arduino <> Firmata <> Visual Basic .NET
Might at least get you started, with the software that you already have.

You can download the newest version of VB express for free from Microsoft.

To send data over serial use the seril port class.

Just search this forum for VB and you should find what you need to get started.

At least for VB6 it wasn’t too difficult.