Sending rs232 commands to a display

Hello everyone! I am very new to this Arduino stuff. (I just purchased this little blue board 2 days ago!).

well needless to say my first project was more of a headache then I expected.

Basically I want my Arduino to turn on and off a display when pins X and X get a voltage. I'm taking the code in steps and just want to program the Arduino to turn off the display first. Basically Send X code, wait 10 seconds, send X code, wait 10 seconds... and so on.

Well, I have have the HEX values the manufacture requires, but when I program it in, it does nothing!

My board setup is Arduino Nano (pins 10,11) --> max232 --> rs232 Display.

If I send the hex code to 'myself' the serial monitor sees " ðUÿ@¿". If I hook up the serial monitor directly to the TV and type in " ðUÿ@¿" and press send, the tv gets controlled successfully.

Ive done a loopback test on my rs232/max232 board and I successfully get back what I send.

This is my code, with all the various things ive tried. Ive also tried to do a serial.println(" ðUÿ@¿");

Any guidance is greatly appreciated! Think my max232 board could still be an issue even though it loopbacks correctly?

// the hex I need is   0xA0 0xF0 0x55 0xFF 0x40 0xBF
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial mySerial(10, 11); //rx tx

void setup () {

Serial.begin(9600);
  mySerial.begin(38400);
Serial.println("Serial");
mySerial.println("mySerial");
}

void loop () {

/*
 serial and mySerial test
---------------------------
if (mySerial.available()) {
  Serial.write(mySerial.read());
  }
if(Serial.available()) {
  mySerial.write(Serial.read());
  }

*/

byte myHex [] = {0xA0,0xF0,0x55,0xFF,0x40,0xBF };
byte myBin [] = {B10100000,B11110000,B01010101,B11111111,B01000000,B10111111};

mySerial.write(myHex, sizeof(myHex));
delay(5000);

mySerial.write(myBin, sizeof(myBin));
delay(5000);

// I tried with and without \r \n after the various mySerial.writes and with various delays
mySerial.write('\r');