Sending structured packets over Serial from Arduino

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post here, so first of all, hello world.

I’m fairly new to serial comms but I’ve succeeded in some basic command outputs.

I’m having problems trying to send structured data packets from my Arduino UNO to an Atomos Samurai video recording device which has a serial remote control input. I have a data sheet for the serial protocol, which I have attached, but I will copy the key info into my post here.

I have my UNO serial going through a MAX485 board to convert my serial commands to RS485, and I have my USB logic analyser attached to the output of the MAX485. I can successfully send individual bytes using the following code:

const int enable = 4;  // set enable command output pin to 4

void setup(){

pinMode(enable, OUTPUT); // 'enable' set as output 
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {

digitalWrite(enable, HIGH); // set as 'enable' high 

delay(10);
  Serial.write(0x14); // sends '0x14' in hex

}

This works fine, and returns a ‘0x14’ every second on my logic analyser sample. However, I need to send a structured packet from the UNO, with a CRC attached. More specifically, in this format:

Packet Structure
The packet is variable length with BIG endian data ordering which has a minimum length of 16 bytes and a maximum length of 24 bytes.

Size 2 bytes Total size of the packet in bytes INCLUDING the 4-byte CRC appended to the data.
Command 2 bytes Command id or status id.
Address 8 bytes Client address (unit name) or SERIAL_COMMAND_BROADCAST_ADDRESS.
Data Packet data, zero or more bytes with the caveat that it must be in multiples of 4 bytes.
CRC 4 bytes 16-bit CRC of entire packet. An example in C is given in Appendix B.

The datasheet gives an example for sending a simple broadcast ‘record’ command in C, as follows:

s8 data[0x14] =
{
  0x00, 0x14,
  0x00, 0x00,
  0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x01,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
};