Sending text message from web page to Arduino

Hi all.. :slight_smile:

I need some suggestions for my project. This is my first time building an Arduino project, although I have done some searching on the internet, still, hope that can know is there other better/smart ways to solve the problem as you guys have more experiences. :slight_smile:

So, what I am doing currently is to send a text message from web page to Arduino for display, but I am kinda confusing with the flow of the data.

From what I understand is,
if(want to display current message)
Arduino(current message) -> display
else if (want to display new message)
Web page(fill in new message) -> data pass through API to Arduino -> Arduino(new message become current message -> display

So, my question is
1. What is the smart approach to doing this? (Arduino Yun seems like a good choice, but is there any other cheaper board to choose? I have UNO, mega and wifi shield.)
2. Is my understanding of the flow correct? Do I miss something in the flow?

Thanks for reading such a long para. Can see that I am kinda lost. :cold_sweat: Thanks in advance for those who answer!

Wemos Mini?
s-l225 (5).jpg

s-l225 (5).jpg

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the suggestion! It is really a good option!

Meanwhile, do you mind explain how the flow of sending message to the board from a webpage if I am using WiFi shield with UNO? kinda confuse with the API stuff :cold_sweat:

Is my understanding of the flow correct?

Learn more about ESP8266. It can run an http server without Uno or Mega. A display can also be connected to an ESP8266.

https://tttapa.github.io/ESP8266/Chap01%20-%20ESP8266.html

So, what I am doing currently is to send a text message from web page to Arduino for display, but I am kinda confusing with the flow of the data.

I am kind of confused about what you are trying to do.

It sounds like you want to have a webpage that sends SMS messages, is that right?