Sending then reading 5V

I'm new to the Arduino code and would like some basic help. I'm using the Arduino Uno PCB.

I'm confused how to read if an input is high when an output pin is sending out 5V. It seems to me that when I would read the input pin when the output is sending a signal, the output would stop sending the signal when the read process started and the input would always be low. Also any debouncing information on the start pin would be awesome!

If the connection between pin 1 and 2 is good, light an LED.

In english what I'm looking for:

• if startButton is pressed and held the input pin monitoring it sees it as high
  • then send 5V out pin 1
  • then read input pin (pin 2) to see if voltage is successfulling making it (through the jumper wire from pin 1 to pin 2).

So far I've got:

int pin1 = 0; int pin2 = 0; int ledGreen = 16; int startButton = 18;

void setup() { // put your setup code here, to run once: pinMode (pin1, OUTPUT); pinMode (pin2, INPUT); pinMode(ledGreen, OUTPUT);

void loop() { // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:

if (startButton == HIGH); digitalWrite (pin 1); digitalRead (pin 2);

If (pin2 == HIGH); digitalWrite(ledGreen);

else (ledGreen = LOW);

}

Get rid of the ; at the end of the "for, if" lines. Double check if you want braces? {}

if (startButton == HIGH); no ;

If is not if

I give up digitalWrite(ledGreen); :o

At least compile the code before posting it.

Code tags are your friends (slash inside angle brackets, above smilyfaces).

I see a few coding problems right off the bat. There are at least 3 syntax errors, and 4 reference errors.

Some of this should have been VERY obvious had you put it into the IDE and attempted to compile it. You might want to try actually using your code before posting it, so you know what questions to ask.