Senior Design Capstone Project Help!!!

I'm an Electro-Mechanical Engineering student at Penn State in my senior year and currently my team and I are working hard at finishing up our project: an inductive wire guided weed wacker (aka Trimbot).

Trimbot is designed to follow a frequency generated wire using two inductors close to the ground to pick up the signal and steer itself along the edge of the yard or building using an Arduino microcontroller.

I found a great reference website where a person designed the same principle project, an inductive wire guided system, to steer a lego mindstorm bot. On this individual's website the code that was used was listed, however no controller was mentioned so I have to use one of my choosing. The link of the code is here:

http://www.philohome.com/sensors/filoguide/wire-guided-rover.nqc

Here is the link to the whole web page that I visited:

http://www.philohome.com/sensors/filoguide.htm

My question is, is if this code is compatible for an Arduino uno microcontroller, and if so, is the syntax essentially the same thing? My coding skills are very dusty and I'm trying to learn as much as I can as fast as I can.

Any help would be tremendously appreciated. My senior design project, Trimbot, needs to be finished by mid April, however I would like to have it done ASAP.

This is meant for NQC programming language (NQC is a programming language/APIs which was designed for the Lego robots)

Right. NQC, "not quite C" is very similar to what it would look like adjusted for the Arduino.

The referenced program is trivial, or should be I would think for a senior in electro-mechanical engineering or someone on the team.

Take a look at a few simple Arduino programs, the big difference is that they do not have a main function but work with a setup()/loop() concept.

I would hope you could mostly fake it by pattern recognition if not real deep understanding - a useful skill.