sensing ground pin from another arduino

Hi guys, I'm really a noob when it comes to circuit. I'm making a fencing sport scoring system. I need a port in the first arduino to sense the ground port of the second arduino. I can do this with both arduino on usb. But when I put them on 9v batteries, the first arduino can't detect it. I guess it has to do with floating ground and I have no idea how to overcome the problem. Thanks in advance for any head up.

regards

A wire run from the Arduino #1 board ground terminal to the Arduino #2 board ground terminal should do the trick.

Lefty

lefty, I think he means that one swordsman will wear Arduino A, and the other swordsman will wear Arduino B, and some kind of buzzer will ring if the two touch (sword to armor). Maybe you understood that, but the wire would have to connect the swordsmen through the mat or through a central box on the sidelines.

Without some wire joining the parties, this is not a trivial detection circuit. Two circuits cannot detect each other just by touching one contact without some other common potential from which to base a comparison.

thanks lefty for quick reply. as correctly pointed by halley, I'm not in the luxury to connect a permanent ground-to-ground wire between arduinos. will serial-like communication doable as a sensing mechanism? ie. if arduino 1 received some serial communication from second arduino.

Regards,

thanks lefty for quick reply. as correctly pointed by halley, I'm not in the luxury to connect a permanent ground-to-ground wire between arduinos. will serial-like communication doable as a sensing mechanism? ie. if arduino 1 received some serial communication from second arduino.

Regards,