Sensing objects in a 2 meter radius

Hello, I'm trying to sense if certain objects are in a 2 meter radius from my arduino. The only data that needs to be send is an identification of the object (a number).

The first thing I thought was using RFIDs, a tag in the object and a RFID reader connected to the arduino. Never got to figure out how to do this a I found out that the RFID reader that I need costs more than 2 thousand dollars (at least in my country) and that is way out of my budget.

My second idea was using bluetooth modules on the objects and sensing their names in my arduino (with another module). I will have to figure out how to decrease the range of the bluetooth module in the arduino to 2 meters.

My question is: do I need a microcontroller for every bluetooth module (object) or can I establish their names with one microcontroller and then place the modules alone on the objects with a power supply? (Trying to have the lowest cost possible) Bear in mind that I'm new to arduino but I'm eager to learn.

If anyone has another idea to do this I would love to hear about it. Remember that I do not need to know the orientation of the object nor the exact distance from the arduino, just if it is inside a 2 meter radius and it's identification number.

Thanks in advance for your time and knowledge, Leo.

You will never be able to restrict any radio system to a short range like this. I don't know if you have a solvable problem.

Ok thanks Mike, but can you help me with the questions I asked about the bluetooth modules?

My question is: do I need a microcontroller for every bluetooth module (object) or can I establish their names with one microcontroller and then place the modules alone on the objects with a power supply? (Trying to have the lowest cost possible) Bear in mind that I'm new to arduino but I'm eager to learn.