"Sensor" for communication within millimeter

Hi everyone

I'm new to the arduino world and might try to do my first project. To do so I'm looking for a way to communicate wireless over a distance of a few mm. Initially I thought, this could be done with the help of a special sensor (capacitive / inductive), that's why I'm posting in the "sensors" forum.

What I want to do is something similar to what I have attached.

Any ideas on how this could be done?

Thanks for your help.

Regards

You could have 1 LED shine onto a light sensor on the other side.
You can even go much distances that way:

Unfortunately this only works through air, but not with anything in between. And the second problem is that I need “one” sensor, which means that sender and receiver must be integrated in the same device.

From a physical point of view it should be possible with capacitors (maybe <10mm).

So you are after some 2-way RF means of transmission then.
Many options exist there
http://www.yourduino.com/sunshop/index.php?l=product_list&c=12

t_guttata:
over a distance of a few mm

How many millimeters ?
What kind of wood ? Cheap light wood, or heavy red wood ?
Can the sensors be glued to the wood ?
Is the wood moving ?
How big can the sensors be ? A plate of 10 cm * 10 cm ?
Is the wood dry or moist ?
Can you drill a hole in the wood ?

A gap of a few millimeters might result in a capacitor of only a few picoFarad. That is not reliable for a capacitive or touch sensor.
Trying to get a light or laser through the wood can be hard.
Inductive coupling is perfect for this. You can even use RFID (Adafruit RFID key). Glue the key in one part and the antenna in the other part. The exact location will not be accurate.
With a piezo element and high frequency sound might be possible, however the basic Arduino boards are not good with sound, so connecting a piezo element to an Arduino board as microphone is not ideal.
A mechanical knock has the same problem that a microphone is needed.