Sensor in shoe sole for BPM measurement

Hi guys,

I'm working on a small project for school and I have some basic sensor background, but I'm struggling with a project. A part of this project is to measure the BPM at which a person walks/runs.

The detection of the beat should happen in the shoe, so I need a sensor to put in the sole of the shoe. I was thinking of putting an infrared sensor in the sole, so that whenever a person steps on the floor, everything is black and the sensor can detect that. The problem I have with this is that people also walk when its dark outside and then the difference would not be detectable.

My question is: is there a sensor available that can constantly measure the BPM of a person's walk, and if so, which one would you recommend? (It's just for a prototype so I don't need something extremely expensive)

Thanks!

Accelerometers are the standard tool for the job. Landing a foot gives a big spike, while the foot is
on the ground is a period of stillness.

I was thinking of an FSR. Accellerometer may be the more accurate one indeed.

MarkT:
Accelerometers are the standard tool for the job. Landing a foot gives a big spike, while the foot is
on the ground is a period of stillness.

Thank you, this made a lot of sense to me so I immediately ordered the ADXL345 accelerometer. I managed to hook it up to my Arduino and used the following sample code to print the x,y and z values to the serial monitor:

< #include <Wire.h>
#define DEVICE (0x53) // Device address as specified in data sheet
byte _buff[6];
char POWER_CTL = 0x2D;    //Power Control Register
char DATA_FORMAT = 0x31;
char DATAX0 = 0x32;    //X-Axis Data 0
char DATAX1 = 0x33;    //X-Axis Data 1
char DATAY0 = 0x34;    //Y-Axis Data 0
char DATAY1 = 0x35;    //Y-Axis Data 1
char DATAZ0 = 0x36;    //Z-Axis Data 0
char DATAZ1 = 0x37;    //Z-Axis Data 1

void setup() {
 Wire.begin(); // join i2c bus (address optional for master)