Sensor network with ethernet for Home automation

Hi,
I'm new to Arduino, but skilled in programing and eletronics.

I a'm looking to make a dedicates wired network to link sensors to a server on a home automation system.

Thought about Arduino and Ethernet shield, for server and sensors, on a dedicates network, phisicaly separated from me internet home network.

I want to get the server to ask each and every sensor for their state, and also send commands to them.

Can I do this witn Ardunino hardware/software?

I so, can you help on recommending an programming approach to the way to use Ethernet commands library.
I need to
-Ask a specific IP for their state (variable length response)
-Send commands to a specific IP?

Many thanks.
JB

Can I do this witn Ardunino hardware/software?

Certainly.

-Ask a specific IP for their state (variable length response)

Making a GET request is simple. The ethernet library comes with examples.

Send commands to a specific IP?

That, too, would be done by making a GET request.

PaulS:
Certainly.
Making a GET request is simple. The ethernet library comes with examples.
That, too, would be done by making a GET request.

GET request?? I cant find a "GET" command on the Ethernet library reference.
Can you please point me to an code example??

One more thing: will this network be efficient driving dozens of sensors, repeatedly??

Thanks

the Arduino side should be straight forward, use an arduino and Ethernet shield or just one of the cheaper Ethernet adapters (the shield has an SD card slot which you may not need)

two ways of doing this

Each device has a fixed ip address

the automation server sends an UDP message to each sensor in turn , asking its status (or updating its outputs) the sensor then replies with a confirmation packet

or

each sensor picks up an IP address via DHCP, obviously the home automation server wont know what this is, so each sensor will need to send a UDP packet to the home automation server stating its status