Sensor pins in use

I have a Mega Arduino, my problem is that the SDA and SCL pins are already in use with the MPU6050 sensor, but, in addition to the previous one I want to use other distance sensors (VL53L0X), both use those same pins. It is possible to share it or assign others pinoput, because I have more than 5 VL53L0X sensors.

This is the official library: GitHub - pololu/vl53l0x-arduino: Pololu Arduino library for VL53L0X time-of-flight distance sensor

That’s OK, I2C is a bus and you can have multiple compliant devices connected. Each device has an address and so will respond when it sees a communication sent to its address.

1 Like

Let’s see if I understood, I can connect more than 10 sensors to the SDA and SCL pins, and obviously to 5V and GND. That is, I can share exactly the same pins (respectively) as if of a single sensor it would be? (I do not know if I understood badly).

I apologize if my question is basic, I am new with Arduino, as you can notice.

Can I see some tutorial or documentation where do they do it? I do not want to burn a sensor or my Arduino.

I assume you live somewhere and you have a street address. The name of the street is the same for all residents but their housing number differs. Think of I2C as the street name. The arduino will say “I want to to send a letter to I2C street, apartment 3F and everyone on the bus sees the letter passing by but only the tenant in 3F reads it (they are all well behaved :))

So Yes, as long as they have different addresses (and compatible electric requirements)

Tons of info online if you do an I2C arduino search

And more…

1 Like

Electric requirements compatible with Arduino or the sensors between them? I want to know compatibility on my own.

For example those two sensors that I tell you: 10 sensors VL53L0X and 1 sensor MPU6050

I added a couple links above

1 Like

When you say: ''as long as they have different addresses (and compatible electric requirements)".