Sensor - Pro MIni - Sleep mode

Hi All,

I am a real newbie on here so please excuse any mistakes!

I am working on a pulse sensor device - it is very small so I am using a pro mini and powering it with 6v.

I want it to go to sleep when not in use and be triggered awake with a sensor input - I think I have managed to put together all the code correctly only I cannot really tell how much power is being used. My batteries seemed to deplete overnight which doesn’t seem right if it is working?

Is there anyone out there who can have a look at my code to see if I am missing anything / it all compiles and seems to sleep so I cant figure out whats happening?

:o

#include<avr/sleep.h>
#include <avr/interrupt.h>

// Pins
const int ledPin = 3;
const int sensePin = 0;
int brightness = 0;    // how bright the LED is
int sleep_mode_LED = 13;          // LED used to detect the sleep mode 

// LED blink variables
int ledState = LOW;

// Hearbeat detect variables
int newHeartReading = 0;
int lastHeartReading = 0;
int Delta = 0;
int recentReadings[2] = {0,0};
int historySize = 2;
int recentTotal = 0;
int readingsIndex = 0;
boolean highChange = false;
int totalThreshold = 2;

// Heartbeat Timing
long lastHeartbeatTime = 0;
long debounceDelay = 150;
int currentHeartrate = 0;

void pciSetup(byte pin)    // function to change interrupt pin to A0 
{
    *digitalPinToPCMSK(pin) |= bit (digitalPinToPCMSKbit(pin));  // enable pin
    PCIFR  |= bit (digitalPinToPCICRbit(pin)); // clear any outstanding interrupt
    PCICR  |= bit (digitalPinToPCICRbit(pin)); // enable interrupt for the group
}

ISR (PCINT1_vect) // handle pin change for interrupt1 at A0 pin
 {
    digitalRead(A0);
 }  

void pinA0_Interrupt(void)
{
  detachInterrupt(0);  // disable interrupt
  sleep_disable();   // wake up cpu
}
void sleepNow() {  
  // here we put the arduino to sleep

set_sleep_mode(SLEEP_MODE_PWR_DOWN);         // set sleep mode