Sensor programming

Hi everyone, I am pretty new at this, I hope someone can help me learn a bit more.

If I have two sensors, say one for metal and one for non-metal and the output of these two sensors are inputs to drive a stepper motor one way or the other, for a sorting application. When the motor drives I don't want the sensors to effect anything until the arm attached to the motor goes to its position and then back again. I don't want the arm to be switching the sensor as it moves.

I was thinking about the delay function but I think that would delay the entire program for the set time. Is there any way of 'latching' on the output to the stepper motor for a set time so it could complete its action and return back to its starting point to identify the next object? Or is there a way to take the sensors out of the equation for a set time without effecting the output to the stepper motor. Sorry if this is a stupid question or has been covered before.

Any help at all would be much appreciated.

Thanks

You should write down in detail what you want your machine to do in the order you wan it done. That will form the basis of your sketch. For example:

If the "metal" sensor has triggered: Run the "Metal" stepper to the right for 1/4 turn. Wait there three seconds Run the "Metal" stepper to the left for 1/4 turn.

If the "non-metal" sensor has triggered: Run the "Non-Metal" stepper to the left for 1/4 turn. Wait there three seconds Run the "Non-Metal" stepper to the right for 1/4 turn.

You might want to add some limit switches so you can move motors until they reach the correct position.

Thanks very much for your reply. That is a good way of thinking about it.