Sensor shows the same value - A02YYUW

Hi everybody,

I am completely new in this Arduino environment and I have a project that I’m gonna use waterproof ultrasonic sensor A02YYUW.

I am using Arduino Nano. When I upload the code below, I am getting the same values. Even the location of the sensoris constant, the values are same and I am getting the value of 0 cm mostly. I dont know how it is possible.

I did the same connections as sample project.

Could you please check and give me some support on my project?

Thanks in advance!

Can I know some details of your project. Is it the waterproof sensor and you are measuring the values in the water right ?

I am building a robotic fish. Yes it is a waterproof sensor. It is strange but I got the same values even if i put the sensor in the water.

That code appears to be for a standard ultrasonic distance sensor.
The sensor you have has a special serial interface. Here is a description which includes a code sample: A02YYUW Waterproof Ultrasonic Sensor Wiki - DFRobot

Hi 6v6gt,

I have tried that sample code as well. But the sensor gives strange values. You may see below. I do not understand what is wrong. :pensive:

Change the baud rate on your serial console from 9600 to this 57600 . If that fails, post the code you used for that test.

I got this ERROR message when I changed the baud rate.

Here is the code that I am using:

/*
*@File : DFRobot_Distance_A02.ino
*@Brief : This example use A02YYUW ultrasonic sensor to measure distance
* With initialization completed, We can get distance value
*@Copyright [DFRobot](http://www.dfrobot.com),2016
* GUN Lesser General Pulic License
*@version V1.0
*@data 2019-8-28
*/
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial mySerial(A0,A2); // RX, TX
unsigned char data[4]={};
float distance;
void setup()
{
Serial.begin(57600);
mySerial.begin(9600);
}
void loop()
{
do{
for(int i=0;i<4;i++)
{
data[i]=mySerial.read();
}
}while(mySerial.read()==0xff);
mySerial.flush();
if(data[0]==0xff)
{
int sum;