Sensors to Arduino Micro to HC-05 Bluetooth to PC using keboard.press commands

Hello, hopefully someone can guide me in the right direction, I'm fairly new to arduino and am stuck trying to make my project wireless through Bluetooth.

My project uses Capacitive sensors and a rotary encoder to send keyboard.press commands to my PC, I have this working with an Arduino Micro through a USB cable.

I want to make it wireless and I have got a HC-05 module which I have been able to pair to my PC. I have been through the very helpful guide at http://homepages.ihug.com.au/~npyner/Arduino/GUIDE_2BT.pdf which I was able to get the bluetooth module working with my phone.

Essentially what I want to do is replace the USB cable with the HC-05 using Serial1.begin(9600), is this possible? I know the guide says a common problem is uploading and testing with the same PC, is there a way around this?

Do I need to change the HC-05 to be a master rather than a slave? When I do this it won't connect to my PC even after previously being paired.

The other thing I think may be the problem is that my PC "pairs" to the HC-05 but doesn't "connect", this must be causing problems. Help!

There are some notes on using Windows in the childs' guide notes you have. Indeed I used windows before I got a smartphone.

There are two entirely separate areas of operation.

1. Data transfer between PC and Arduino
  2. Uploading and debugging programmes via bluetooth

The following addresses the first.

Bluetooth remains a slave

No changes at Arduino end - you have done all that

You need a Kosher terminal programme for the PC. I use RealTerm. There are others - all free. Using RealTerm is pretty intuitive and, once things are debugged, is a better way to go than serial monitor, even without bluetooth