sequencing

Hi all;

I’m just getting started with an Uno. I have been reading books and manuals and am starting to grasp the language/syntax. My question branches out a bit so im just going to start with the most important two.

1. Can 1 Uno carry out a sequence of operations one at a time and then stop?
  2. can a momentary be CLICKED to start the process and carry it out without holding.

The process
think of elevator doors. I am using 2 servos to close them, one turning CW the other turning CCW.

1. push a button and release.
  2. doors close (will base this on how many degrees of rotation required for them to close which i will determine later)
  3. flash led once (this is actually an attempt at simulating a momentary switch using a reed switch/relay for something else)
  4. turn on another LED for a duration of time (another relay switch but this one runs for about 10-15 seconds)
  5. doors reopen and the Uno powers off.

I have tried this with code (some borrowed some modified and some unique.) and hook-ups. the syntax passes the check but i don’t get the result i want. servos will spin several rotations one way then stop rotate back 1/4-1/2 and then go back again several more. havent even tried connecting the relay switches yet. and it just keeps going

still deciding on the power situation I have been trying to limit this whole thing to a single 9v battery but may add another or some AAs to solely power the Uno and keep the 9v for just the motors.

sorry if i’m not being specific enough but im trying to finish this last min at the end of lunch. any help/response would be appreciated. I will add the code here too soon if anyone needs it but if you have something already in mind or done it would make less confusion because as i said im a bit green and my code is a choppy work in progress at best.

Thank you.
XD

1. Yes.
  2. Yes.

There have been several posts for power-on/power-off switches.