Serial.available and other Serial class methods???please help

hello...i am new to Arduino programming....just bought the Duemilanove a week ago....

i have trouble in using Serial class methods....

for example when i attach my Duemilanove board to my computer and perform input through Serial Monitor,i get unexpected results....

for example,the first input i gave to the buffer of the Arduino Board is abcdef....so the size of the buffer should be 6.....

but i get unexpected results....

the OUTPUT is somewhat like(i said somewhat because i dont have the board with me right now,its with my friend)

Before Read opn:1 //the first time when loop() runs
After Read opn:0
Before Read opn:4
After Read opn:3
Before Read opn:0 //this is the last time loop() runs before getting stuck in while loop
After Read opn:0

Serial.available() is giving unexpected outputs

code-

void setup() 
{
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
while(Serial.available()==0);

Serial.print("Before Read operation:");
Serial.println(Serial.available());

Serial.read();

Serial.print("After Read operation:");
Serial.println(Serial.available());

char val=Serial.read();

}

output is bizaare...

but when i changed the code a bit...

void loop(){

while(Serial.available()==0){
delay(1000);
}

//rest code is same

}

then the output is what i expected...which is-

Before Read opn:6
After Read opn:5
Before Read opn:4
After Read opn:3
Before Read opn:2
After Read opn:1

can anyone please explain the proper working of Serial.available(),Serial.read(),etc..???

i will be highly thankful....

Millions of instructions are executed every second. Serial is much slower than that, so your Arduino will read the available bytes as 1 well before the remaining characters are received.

yeah i am thinking the same....but i need to grab the Serial class methods concepts before i move on further.....

the result is what i expect when i perform the delay() thing....