Serial Comm between Mega 2560 (REV3) and Xbee S2 using Arduino Xbee Shield v1.1

I'm rather new to XBee and simply trying to get them to work in point to point communication before setting them up with other network topologies.

I have the following shield

At the top of this page it states
"NB : This page refers to a deprecated product. Information on the current Wireless Shield can be found here"

On the same page there is a link to the Arduino wireless shield which has directions on setting up S2 modules. I've followed the directions on this page to setup 1 Xbee as the coordinator and the 2nd Xbee as the router. I set the DL and DH in the coordinator from the SL and SH in the router/endpoint. I also read elsewhere to set the DL and DH in the router/endpoint to the SL/SH on the Coordinator - not sure it's necessary but I tried this both ways. The coordinator is set with 1047 AT firmware and the router/endpoint is set with 1247 AT firmware.

(Note I've found the easiest way to communicate from the computer to the Xbee without other hardware is to jumper RESET to GROUND on your Arduino board whereas some directions on the links states to remove the processor.)
(Note2 - I'm using a MAC so I'm using Moltosenso Network manager to upload firmware and change the SL/SH, DL/DH and PanID)

I believe the configurations are working correctly because when connected to the computer I tried the RSSI test on Moltosenso Network Manager and found 1 remote node with the Routers SH and SL. I also see the Associate LED flashing as if it's found the Coordinator and joined the network.

I then uploaded the following code onto the Arduino Mega 2560's.

MEGA #1

void loop()
{
  Serial.print('H');
  delay(1000);
  Serial.print('L');
  delay(1000);
}

MEGA#2 loaded the COMMUNICATION -> PHYSICAL PIXEL