Serial Comms question

Hi All,

Quick background - im a communications engineer, so understand all the electronics, but im a hopeless programmer! So please bear with me,

Im working on a project that requires bidirectional serial data transfer between two Arduinos (in this case a nano and a mega). Im not going to start as complex as that though, and for now just need to get my head around transferring data from one of them to the other,

Now, the data in question is in the form of individual binary inputs but needs to be displayed as the decimal equivalent. Its not strictly binary though, as it comes from groups of four or five switch contacts in a 'sort' of BCD. Each switch represents one unit of a radio frequency, i.e. one switch will be the kHz value, another the 10KHz etc etc,

At the other arduino, or to start with on the serial monitor i guess, I need to display the actual decimal value, of all the switches, in order, to show the actual frequency,

as an example, imagine that the frequency 123.4kHz has the binary equivalent of 1111 1111 11111 111

you get the idea...

What im not at all sure about is how the data is transferred by a serial link. As I understand it, it is done one byte at a time? So am I right in thinking that I will need to do the conversion of the bianry to decimal before sending the values over the link, as decimal values?

So, for example - I would read the four input pins that connect to say, the nkHz switch, convert that to the decimal equivalent, then send that number by serial? Or do I read and convert all the switches until I have the whole set of decimal values for the full frequency, and send them all together as a large integer?